New martial art?

It’s too early to think about this, because I’m buried with work and other stress about the summer, but I think it would be really nice if I could devote more time to fitness/martial arts in general. Lose weight, build endurance.

I’ve already researched, and I want to do kyokushin karate and something with throwing/grappling. Kyokushin appeals to me because it’s karate and I really like karate, but it’s also full-contact so I can actually learn how to put power into my punches/kicks and be an effective opponent. Right now I’m doing no-contact karate, which is nice there’s a larger focus on improving basic movements and forms, but I feel like the sparring part is lacking. They also put a ton of emphasis on strength-building, which is great for me because I’m too self-conscious to go to the gym and not dedicated enough to keep a workout program going.

As for the third one, I’m still thinking. Sparring is really direct and forceful, and groundwork is a lot more about maneuvering. My first thought is brazilian jiu-jitsu because it’s very popular and there’s lots of places open for that. It’s entirely about groundwork, which is a new area for me. Another one is judo. It has a lot of throwing involved (strength needed), and ground stuff is only a part of it. The last one I’m considering is aikido, because there’s a place right next to my karate dojo. Like bjj and judo, it’s about submission, but it’s also a stand-up martial art.

Whichever one(s) I end up doing, I’m going to find a way to keep doing it during the school year.

Leave a Reply

